In the state of California, it is illegal to tattoo a minor, even with parental consent.
Under California Penal Code 653 - Tattooing a minor is a misdemeanor level offense that is punishable by up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine and any other conditions of probation that a judge may deem appropriate. In addition, any tattooist or tattoo parlor may have their license revoked as a result of this offense.
WITH PARENTAL CONSENT
Minor must be 13 years of age and have a Parent present. BOTH Parent AND Minor must have the required identication. (see below)
WHAT YOU NEED TO BRING...
The ID's provided by the parent and the minor must have matching last names and addresses. If the minor ID (which must have photo) does not have an address or if the last names do not match, the minor must have a birth certificate that indicates the accompanying parent's name.
In the case of a name change, please bring an original social security card, divorce decree, or something showing the parent's original name. If you are the legal guardian of the minor, you must provide court documents proving so.
you must be able to prove that the minor is in fact your child
If you are considering bringing your minor to Sykotic Ink, please read this section carefully. We require several forms of identification for both the parent and minor. This may seem excessive, but the requirements have been carefully designed to protect all parties involved and are required by the state and county law. Not all parents and their children have the same last name or address; therefore, we may require multiple forms of identification.
We apologize for any inconvenience, but this is the only way that we can legally render services for minors.
Remember, the law is designed to protect YOUR children.
ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF ID INCLUDE...
- DRIVERS LICENSE OR ID W/ PHOTO
- PASSPORT W/ PHOTO
- STATE ID W/ PHOTO
- MILITARY ID W/ PHOTO
- STUDENT ID W/ PHOTO
- BIRTH CERTIFICATE & PHOTO ID
- DRIVERS LICENSE
- STATE ID
- MILITARY ID